Week Two (so far)

Since it’s already Thursday of Week Two I won’t bore you witht the details of what I’ve eaten in the past 96 hours. I have a great week of working out though so I will share it really quick

On Sunday I ran 3 miles on the treadmill (avg pace 9:45/mile) and then did 10 brutal minutes on the stairmaster at level 17 Followed by a full body circuit (details to follow when I have a little more time)

Monday I did 25 minutes on the stairmaster (130 floors) and did the arc trainer for 15 minutes (Crossramp at 10 and resistance 30) Then I went home and did the “Ab Ripper X” video from the P90X Workouts.

Tuesday was 20 minutes on the eliptical, one fast mile on the treadmill (8:49/mile pace), and 650 ft on Jacobs Ladder (took me a little under 10 minutes) This cardio was followed by some crunches and some planks.

Wednesday I rested. Went home after work and enjoyed having the time to read “Hunger Games”. It’s a great book! although it is geared toward young adults it has completely sucked me in.

As for today, Thursday, I am having my sister and best friend over after work for some dinner, wine, and reality tv so I had to get my workout out of the way this morning. Woke up bright and early at 5:30am and after throwing about 7 almonds in my mouth was out the door by 5:50am. I tried a new workout today! Lately I have been seeing HIIT workouts on all the blogs I read (Blog Roll coming soon) and I decided to look into it.

HIIT stands for High Intensity Interval Training. It is a specific type of interval training routine. It is mostly used for individuals trying to lose weight. HIIT Sessions usually last less than 20 Minutes (perfect)! Excluding warm ups and warm downs no HIIT workout should last no longer than 20 minutes. This may seem like a very short space of time but believe me; if you do the workout correctly you will be exhausted by the end of it. The goal of HIIT is to hold an anaerobic state for a long cumulative time. It’s designed with rest intervals to allow you to sprint harder for longer.

The HIIT Workout I did this morning went as follows:

I actually adapted this from one that was a faster pace (add 1.5 MPH to each speed) I hope to get to that point one day but this was definitely hard enough as is.

After the 24 minutes was up I kept running until I hit 3 miles. My total time was 26:54! For me, that is really good! That is an average pace of 8:58/mile. I usually run 10 minute miles. After I finished that I was feeling energized but unfortunatley didn’t have a ton of time so I hopped on the eliptical for 10 minutes to cool down and then did a small bicep and tricep workout and 50 crunches on the stability ball. Pretty productive quick workout if you ask me.

Then it was home to shower and off to work I went…

Leave a Reply

