Hummus, Lots of Water, and a “Laughing Frank’s Bleu Grilled Cheese”?

As usual the week is winding down and my inspiration to exercise is doing the same…

I haven’t worked out since my HIIT workout on Thursday morning but at least I have been eating somewhat healthy (sort of).

Thursday was a hard-boiled egg and coffee for bfast (yes, I pretty much eat that every weekday morning. I’m quite the creature of habit). For my mid morning snack (around 11:00am) I had a vanilla chobani with Pb2 and a 1/4 of a banana. Lunch was 2 cups of homemade veggie chili (and  a few corn chips). Mid afternoon snack was a cara cara orange. Now, although dinner was healthy, I ate a lot. My sister and best friend came over for a girls night. Wine and reality tv, what more can a girl ask for? Jill brought her hummus dip with some tostidos and after we polished that off, we dug into my main course which was a super salad with chicken. And for dessert, jess brought some hagen daz sorbet and I had a couple little bowls of that. Oh and 3 glasses of red wine of course 🙂 I was extremely full when I went to bed but I was happy and that’s what matters.

Jill’s Hummus Dip

Ingredients 

  • 1 (10 ounce) container classic (or garlic) hummus
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 3/4 cup peeled and diced cucumber
  • 1/2 cup diced roasted red peppers
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped olives (optional)
  • Balsamic
 Directions
  1. Spread the hummus in a smooth layer in an 8×8-inch baking dish.
  2. Layer the feta cheese, cucumber, roasted red pepper,onion, and olives on top.
  3. Drizzle the whole thing with the balsamic. Refrigerate until ready to be served.

Waking up on Friday morning for work was a little rough. I ate my normal bfast, my mid morning snack was 1/2 cup cottage cheese with 1/4 cup of canned pineapple, lunch was another 2 cups of veggie chili (recipe soon I promise), and my afternoon snack was a cara cara orange.Friday also began my quest to drink more water! I drank 2 liters during the work day…success!

Friday night’s dinner was a random creation. I spread a wedge of laughing cow bleu cheese spread (35 cal/wedge) on two slices of gluten free bread and drizzled it with Frank’s Red Hot (I really do “put that s**t on everything”). I put on slice of american cheese in between the 2 slices of  bread and made a REALLY yummy grilled cheese. I also sautéed some spinach as a side. Delish! I think I will call it a “Laughing Frank’s Bleu Grilled Cheese”

Now, Lent started on Wednesday and all though I was raised catholic I don’t really “practice” the religion. I didn’t really even put any thought into giving anything up for lent but it seems like all day Wednesday that is all people were talking about. After hearing that “Lent is the new New Year’s Resolution” I decided I should give something up. I mean I’m always looking for a reason to better myself.

After much consideration I decided to give up snacks after dinner. On a typical night I always go back to the kitchen at least once after dinner, wether it’s for a handful of almonds, a few pieces of banana with peanut butter, or (gasp) a little piece of chocolate. NO MORE! Once dinner is done the kitchen is of limits! Hopefully after 40 days of fighting the urge, the habit will be broken. We shall see…

Wednesday night was a success, Thursday I went back to the kitchen for 1/2 a peanut butter cup before I went to bed, and Friday was a success. 66.6% success rate so far….

I can do better than that!

Leave a Reply

